top of page

About the Society

The Society for the Law of the Eastern Churches was established according to Austrian Law on September 28, 1969. The organizational center of the Society is the Department for Legal Philosophy (formerly the Institute for Canon Law) of the Viennese Faculty of Law. The purpose of the Society is the promotion of better international and inter-confessional scholarly collaboration among specialists of the Law of the Eastern Churches and of the Civil Law on Churches insofar as it concerns the Eastern Churches.

The Society is administered by the Board which is composed of:

President:  Metropolitan Grigorios (Papathomas) of Peristeri

President Emerita:  Professor Astrid Kaptijn

Vice-President:  Rev. Monsignor Chorbishop John Faris

Councilor: Rev. Professor Mihai Constantinescu

CouncilorRev. Professor Pablo Gefaell

Councilor: Rev. Professor Cherian Thunduparampil

Councilor: Dr. Lewis Patsavos

Councilor: Professor Nikolaos Maghioros

Secretary General: Fr. Bartholomew Mercado


Secretary General:  Fr. Bartholomew Mercado

Vice-Secretary:  Fr. Dobromir Dimitrov

Treasurer:  Dr. David Heith-Stade


Hon. Prof. Dr. Brigitte Schinkele  

Professor Richard Potz

Seat of the Society

Institut für Rechtsphilosophie
Schenkenstraße 8-10
4. Stock, Stiege 2
1010 Wien, 

bottom of page